Ayurveda Yoga Specialist Unit 1

Ayurveda Yoga Specialist – The Macrocosm & Microcosm of Ayurveda & Yoga

Total Hours

20 Classroom Hours

10 Independent Study Hours


For Personal Practitioners (non-certification) — none

For Certification-Seekers – 200 hour Yoga Alliance Certified Yoga Teacher (or currently enrolled in a YA accredited program)

Course Overview:

The AYS Level 1 workshop is the foundation for all Ayurvedic Yoga Specialist modules, and where you’ll begin your journey of using the tools of Ayurveda and yoga to make the desires from your spiritual consciousness take form in reality. Our focus will be the 6 systems of Indian philosophy (shad darshan) that comprise the basis of Ayurveda.

Upon completion of AYS 1 you will understand the following concepts:

  • Purusha (pure consciousness) and prakriti (universal nature)

  • The elements that manifest in the body and mind (koshas and doshas)

  • The 3 doshas of the body (vata, pitta, kapha)

  • The Ayurvedic clock (time of day, seasons, and stages of life)

  • How to determine your physical type (dosha prakriti), and your current imbalance (vikriti)

  • What are the energetics of asana and how classes can be structured from an Ayurvedic perspective

Homework for this module includes

  • Create your own dinacharya – 30-40 day practice of daily Ayurvedic routines

  • 10 Open-ended questions designed to help you integrate the material and prepare for AYS 2

  • Outline chapters in books (Books titles to be sent with course materials)

  • Designing yoga classes for pacification of the doshas

Next steps on the AYS ladder

  • Ayurveda Yoga Specialist 2

  • Ayurveda Yoga Specialist 3

  • Ayurveda Yoga Specialist 4

  • Torchbearer/ Ayurveda Health Counselor/ Three Wisdom Traditions

Upcoming AYS Workshops